Categories
Uncategorized

WhatsApp Blue Tick Feature is a Violation of User Privacy – How to get Rid of it? — Ordoh

CLOSE

Friday, April 3, 2015

Welcome! Login in to your account Forgot your password? Recover your password

WhatsApp Blue Tick Feature is a Violation of User Privacy – How…

WhatsApp Blue Tick Feature is a Violation of User Privacy – How to get Rid of it? By – Dec 10, 2014 9 0 SHARE

WhatsApp has been at the forefront of bringing people together and ensuring that even people in long distance relationships still keep in touch with each other in the cheapest and coolest way possible.

However, this app has come in with some controversial updates and features that have seen numerous users grumble. The latest of these updates is the blue tick feature that enables senders of messages to know exactly when a message is opened and read by the recipient.

With this feature, people can no longer be guaranteed of safety and privacy. It is quite impossible to ignore stalkers and it can lead to huge misunderstandings in relationships. Even though the newly introduced feature can be very helpful in curbing cheating as one will know when a message is delivered and read, it is still a feature that can land you into the deep end of problems.

This feature creates an atmosphere where users are compelled to respond to conversations immediately they read them. Are the virtues of waiting, understanding and patience still in existence really? What WhatsApp is up to with this latest development is quite unimaginable, however; there are still ways you could use to bypass this little blue tick devil.

Downgrading

The blue tick version of WhatsApp is the latest in town. However, by downloading an earlier version of WhatsApp, you won’t be exposed to this blue tick feature. The current version of 2.11.431 enables users to see double blue ticks whenever a message they sent is read. In addition, this version displays two grey ticks that indicate a message has been delivered to the intended device, but it hasn’t been read just yet.

On the other hand, the older version of WhatsApp (v 2.11.399) had no such features. However, ensure that before you downgrade to an earlier version, you have created a backup of your current conversations so that you don’t lose them. In order to do this, navigate to the app’s “Settings” and then choose “Chat Settings”. From there, select “Backup Conversations”.

In order to ensure that you don’t have any problems with the installation process, you can go back to the “Settings” option on your phone and select “Applications”. From here, check the option labeled “Unknown sources” and in this way, you’ll have authorized installation of WhatsApp and any other app from any other site other than the Google Play Store.

In order to restore your contacts and conversations, go back to the previously created backup and sync both the contacts and conversations.

Turn off play store auto-updates – After you have downgraded your WhatsApp version to the older version, go to your Play Store homepage and tweak the settings to turn off auto updates of WhatsApp such that it does not automatically update to the latest version. In this way, you won’t have the blue ticks appearing on your screen.

In order to do this, go to your Google Play Store homepage and navigate to the “Settings” option and from there, you can disable the option labeled “Auto-update apps” by selecting another option labeled “Do not auto-update apps”

You don’t have to worry about your friends seeing the blue ticks on their chat windows with you as this won’t happen. Once you have downgraded to version 2.11.399, your friends won’t be able to see the delivery and exact time you read their messages, regardless of whether they are using the latest version of WhatsApp or not. In this way, you’ll be enjoying your freedom and privacy of reading messages and replying at your own convenience or even ignoring them if you want.

Turn Off Data Connection

Another way of getting around this blue tick enemy is by turning off your data connection while accessing your messages. If you are using Wi-Fi, you may have to disable it whenever you open your WhatsApp account, because the app sends messages online and if you are online, friends will note that you were, yet you still ignored their messages.

This is a very tedious method but it’s worth it since at the end, you’ll have your privacy back with you. As much as the sender will see the two grey ticks indicating the message is delivered to the device, they won’t be able to see whether you’ve read the message since you opened it while offline.

SHARE

Previous articleSkype Latest Download – 3 Top Tips for Using it Like a Pro Next articleLatest Adobe Flash Player 16 Download Now Compatible with 64-bit Operating Systems and Web Browsers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *